The more things change, the more they stay the same

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about SL and the future. I’m not sure I’m entirely jazzed about the apparent direction of things. I hear all the same rumors that everyone does, I read the blog posts by M.Linden and T.Linden. I guess I’m an oldbie now. Overly reminiscent about the past, pessimistic about the future. When I first started playing SL, there was an expectancy in the virtual air – a feeling of possibility. Lately I’m not feeling that same possibility. When you work at the Ivory Tower of Prims, you see a lot newbies. Newbies building crazy stuff. If you hang out long enough, you watch as they become builders, expressing their personal creativity in a variety of ways. I fear the future is one where expressing your personal creativity will fall by the wayside in SL – you’ll need to be an expert in everything in order to do anything, instead of just putting prims together and having a blast. But it’s just my personal feeling – it’s entirely possible I’m reading too much into the posts. Being overly reminiscent, I was looking at the first flowers made by FallingWater Cellardoor (Shiny Things) in Clementina, one of the original beta sims. While they seem simple by today’s standards in SL, you can see the seeds of greatness – and how over time she grew as a creator. It made me head to Shiny Things to take pictures of an outfit that I’ve put together cause I love it. I paired a new jacket from Niniko, what I guess could now be considered ‘vintage’ jeans from Armidi, with the lovely hat hair benefiting the terrible situation in Haiti through the Red Cross from Maitreya. One of my favorite T-shirts from Doppelganger, with a great graphic of an old TV on it adds a bit of interest. I accessorized with a new belt from me! I’m calling it, Metallic Leather Belt – though it will come in gold, silver, and copper, I’m showing it here in black patent leather. It WILL be my 60L Sunday special (all four colors) so stop by the shop starting midnight on Saturday to snag it. The necklace I’m wearing will be one of my new releases this week, the pearl flower necklace. The shoes for this pic are also from Maitreya, black patent pumps that were a group gift. Anyhow that’s all the news that fits to print. Look for my new releases this weekend.

Outfit Credits

Hair – Sasha (Bistre) – Maitreya

Skin – Ania 10 (Fair-Glow Skin) – LAQ

Eyes – Fairy Hansel Bright – Poetic Color Eyes

Lashes – Natural Prim Lashes – La Sylphide

Jewelry – Pearl Flower Necklace (Silver) – Dark Mouse – Not yet released

Accessories – Round about Glasses & Patent Leather Belt – Dark Mouse – Not yet released

Jacket – Toggle Coat (Red) – Niniko

T-Shirt -Festive T’s (Vintage TV) – Doppelganger

Jeans – A001 Jeans [Faded Classic] – Armidi Limited

Shoes – SoHo Boots (Patentmix Black) – Maitreya

Poses – A variety from – Lap

Leave a Reply

