playing with prims and other bedtime stories

Sooo, I put this outfit together as sort of a fluke. And since it mostly came as an outfit right outta the box, saying I put it together might be a bit of a stretch…I’ve been working at turtle pace feeling a bit, well uninspired. When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping so off I went. I liked this sweater dress from Glam Couture, but confession time – I really ‘thought’ I bought it in beige or cream. I open up my inventory and lo and behold, it’s pink. The problem with pink for me is that in RL – I NEVER wear pink. This has deep psychological roots. As a child, I was blond haired and blue-eyed (later changing to dark blond with green eyes, later dyed to auburn haha!) and constantly forced by my mother to wear, you guessed it, PINK. So to discover that I accidentally bought a pink dress – egad. But I have been working on a new piece. The idea of the new piece was that I wanted something vintage (uh yeah), and longish, that would look good with sweater dresses that are all the rage! I’ve been looking at designs of traditional filigrees so I started playing with prims to see what I could come up with. I also wanted it to be kind of romantic, so I used a heart for the center. Finally I wanted to create a diamond that looked, for lack of a better word, twinkly. Since I am a romantic (I’ve named the piece, “Loves Labours Lost” if there are any oldish beauty and the beast fans out there) stuffing all those sweetish ideas into one piece takes a bit of time. I also need to make earrings, but I’ll get around to that. The end of this stream of consciousness is that the idea of this outfit, in short, is to show off a new necklace I made!

On a slightly different note, I wanted to touch ever so briefly on the recent comments on the fashion feed of bloggers being either too nice (rainbows and puppies), or too mean (justified or unjustified criticism). Basically, I think that we should all do what we feel. For me – the ability to create in SL is like a present that I continue to open up each day. I did not start off knowing how to use Photoshop (some may say I still don’t know how to use it HA), I have been practicing ‘building’ for almost 2 years now, and there are still some things I don’t know or don’t get. The photos I take of my products are always a trial for me, but I continually try to improve (I seriously did not know where ‘high resolution snapshot’ was for a depressingly long period of time). But the process of learning, the ability to express myself is priceless to me. I’ve not had that in my RL for a very long time, and it means a lot to me. Every single time someone buys something that I made – I’m thrilled! For whatever reason, something I did appealed to someone. Even if it’s only one person, it means a lot. Have I gotten criticism or suggestions on my work? You bet I have. And even when I hate it, even when I want to virtually kick the person who said it, I listen to it (Mouse, there’s too much red in your ads, or why not try making this texture change?). It’s unfortunately true that some designers may not be able to take criticism and may turn away from SL altogether, and that would be unfortunate. I encourage anyone who really loves the process of creating and learning to take the critique (whether it’s good or bad), keep the good – throw out the bad and keep on doing what you’re doing. If you really love it, then you can take whatever is thrown at you. Outfit credits after the picture.

mousemashup191

Outfit Credits from top to bottom

Hair – Lydia – Strawberry Blackened – ETD

Skin – Lumine – Dew Frex (Basic Pack) Curio

Eyes – Sour Apple (Normal White) – Chroma

Jewelry – DM Vintage Hoop Earrings from Tortoise Shell Bangles set and DM Love’s Labours Lost Necklace (not yet released) – Dark Mouse Jewelry

Outfit – Sweater Dress – Pink (Sweater, skirt, leggings, scarf) – Glam Couture

Shoes – Francois Flats – Grey – Shiny Things

Poses – Almost always – LAP

2 thoughts on “playing with prims and other bedtime stories

Leave a Reply

