Feeling Nostalgic and Merry, Merry Christmas!

Ah I just finished wrapping presents, my back is killing me, and I’m having a much deserved glass o’ wine. And reflecting. About this time, two years ago, my descent into second life began. I had actually joined on the 17th of November, as part of an assignment for my RL company. We were trying to determine if Second Life was a place where we could hold meetings for our clients. I had read about SL in Business Week, and at the time, we were looking at ways to reduce travel cost – and I thought a immersive virtual environment might be worth investigating. I got online, got an account, and was frustrated almost immediately by the sheer breadth of all I did not know or understand about how SL operated. I chose ‘girl next door’ as my avatar starter, I looked around and ended up in Teal. I loved Teal, of course. I could not figure out how teleports or landmarks worked!! I logged off. I did not ‘return’ to SL for another month. It was Christmas day. All the ‘events’ had occurred, and everyone was examing their gifts and/or nodding off. I logged in. I was immediately frustrated that I could not ‘find’ Teal again. I wandered around, and landed at the Ivory Tower. I met a person who offered friendship. We hung out. He was a builder and taught me most of the basics. I was fascinated. During my Christmas vacation in 2006, I learned to build, explored ALOT and scored first land. About a month after that, I was hooked. I started first building houses and odd bits (I built a time machine). The first time someone bought one of my houses, I was astonished and then thrilled. I realized almost immediately that SL would not work for my business. The client was far from stable, constant griefing attacks and naked people wandering about made me realize it would never fly for my business. Of course it was too late for me though – I bought more land, expanded, made friends, became a fixture at the Ivory Tower…I’m sure you all know the drill.

I was immediately interested in shopping and fashion. I shopped relentlessly. First I just bought lindens! Then I realized that I was going to need something to support my habit and launched Whimsical Creations. And shopped more and more! My favorite shopping tips websites were Linden Lifestyles (now defunct) and Closet Crisis. I shopped constantly at Last Call. I realize today, as I sip my wine and consider taking advil for the aching back, how much has changed in SL. It is quite literally, a different place and yet still so much the same. I wonder what 2009 holds for us all – will SL make it? I just don’t know anymore – a year ago I would have scoffed at the rumors. I’m generally a conservative person who takes a wait and see approach in all things. Anywho, I’m feeling nostalgic, missing Last Call and wondering about the future.

I’d be curious to hear what others think the future holds for SL.

But regardless of what it holds – I wish everyone a very merry Christmas and the happiest of new years!

Outfit credits are below the pictures…Time Machine is not for sale ;-).

mousemashupat50thousandfeet

Outfit Credits

Hair – Yvette – Strawberry Burnt – ETD

Skin – Chai Double Shot Doe – Tone 4 (Freckled)- LF Chai Skins

Eyes – Sour Apple (Normal White) – Chroma

Jewelry – DM Speakeasy Set in Gold – Dark Mouse Jewelry at Whimsical Creations

Outfit – Jacqui in Gold – Last Call (Can still be found at yardsales and such, do a search on ‘Last Call and Yard Sales’

Shoes – DM Strappy Sandals in Gold Dark Mouse Jewelry at Whimsical Creations

Poses – Almost Always – LAP

timemachine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

